Guadeloupe Guadeloupe History

Guadeloupe is one of the most fascinating destinations in the Caribbean, with its breathtaking natural beauty, beautiful beaches and rich cultural heritage.

Explore the beauty and culture of this lesser-known island and explore its rich history, culture and history. The northernmost French territory in the eastern Caribbean, the DOM Guadeloupe, consists of the islands of Dominica, Grenada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and the Ile-de-France. It stretches from Anguilla (north) to Grenada (south) It is located where the northeastern Caribbean Sea meets the islets and rocks. Located on the east coast of the easternmost French island of Saint-Domingue, it is the second largest island with over 1,500,000 inhabitants. It is located at an altitude of 2,300 m above sea level and 3,200 m deep.

The neighbouring islands of Guadeloupe border on Anguilla, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada and Saint Vincent - the Ile-de-France.

Antigua - based in LIAT - connects Guadeloupe with English-speaking Caribbean islands such as Barbados, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada and Saint Vincent. Several airlines fly to and from Guadalajara and other Caribbean islands via the Caribbean Sea, with the exception of the US Virgin Islands. It borders with France's neighbour Martinique, the small eastern Caribbean island of St Kitts and Nevis, as well as the Dominican Republic and Haiti.

If that is not enough, three more islands or groups of islands can be added to the group of Guadeloupe: Saint Vincent, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. It also acts as a small offshore island, including the small island of Saint Martin de la Guadalajara in the Caribbean, which is easily accessible from Guadeau, but is quiet and unspoiled by mass tourism.

The island is inhabited by about 2,000 people, most of them inhabitants of Guadeloupe, but also tourists and tourists from all over the world.

The island is inhabited by about 2,000 people, most of them residents of Guadeloupe, but also tourists and tourists from all over the world. It is divided into two main islands, the island of St. Vincent and the islands of Saint Martin and Saint Kitts and Nevis.

The region formerly included Saint Bartholomew and Saint Martin, who broke away from Guadeloupe in 2007 after a referendum. The southern half went to the Dutch, while the northern half, Saint Martin, became part of the French department of Guadalajara and St. Maarten, and the southern half to France.

The Caribbean named the main island Karukera Island after the beautiful water, and in 1493 Christopher Columbus named it after a shrine to the Virgin Mary, who is venerated in the Spanish city of Guadalupe in Extremadura. The Spanish name was retained after it became a French colony without changing its spelling or phonology. The name that Columbus gave to the island was the "Monastery of the Virgin of Guadeloupe," which was built as an independent Spanish community of Extremadsura, but Columbus renamed it "Guadeloupe" in honor of Saint Bartholomew.

For three decades, the French-American Island Society delegated the colonization of a region of the island of Guadeloupe to one of its members, Martinique, and for three years to another region, Saint Bartholomew's Island. In 1776, Guadaloupes was declared an overseas department under French control by the French colonial government, but its inhospitable nature was not enough to pacify it for colonization.

On 22 February 2007, Saint Martin and Saint Barthelemy separated from Guadeloupe, but their territories are still part of the region and the department of Guadaloupes. Further north is Guadeaux, a region of the island of Saint Bartholomew in the Gulf of St. Martin, once owned by the Guadad and the French-American island community of Martinique, which is now a department of France.

In 1759, Guadeloupe was occupied by the British for four years and returned to France in 1763, but was regained total control of Guadeloupe in the 1816 Treaty of Vienna. French politics has shaped it, and today France is claiming it for itself. It has been French-owned since the 18th century, when it was taken over by Sweden during the Swedish-French War of Independence (1815-1817).

To understand why the activists were arrested, it is important to remember that Guadeloupe was not technically a colony at the time, but an overseas department of France. The main political initiative came from the working class, rejecting any move towards independence from France, which opponents criticized as a step towards French independence and an attack on French sovereignty.

In 1946, the island officially became a French overseas department, and Guadeloupe was part of the French overseas territories of Saint-Martin and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Christopher Columbus landed in the Caribbean in 1492, marking the beginning of a long history of European exploration and colonization of North America. The British coveted it and occupied the islands for the longest time (1810 - 1816).

More About Guadeloupe

More About Guadeloupe